Leave a comment

The Dark Side of Secrets and Lies

Secrets & Lies (film)

Secrets & Lies (film) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Unless you have lived in a bubble you have at some point in your life been disappointed, victimized or in some way been “had” or “taken in” from one or more lies or deception.  Unfortunately business in general promotes lies.  Every commercial wants you to think your life is intolerable without their product.  “Hype” is just another word for lie.  So is “politically correct” or anything related to politics.  The writer of the following Biblical phrase cut it “down to the chase” when he stated that “money is the root of all evil”.

Secrets and Lies are at the root of greed and competition.  Sometimes I think I live in the Matrix, nothing is as it really is. I am naturally a gullible person.  My brother (who is now an Economist BTW, very telling) loved to see how far he could go to test his theory that I was a bit of an idiot.  So one day he made up a load of facts about spaghetti growing on trees.  Now while I am not Italian, I lived in the “spaghetto” (my loving word for Italian ghetto), worked at a mob run Italian deli and I did not know that spaghetti did not grow on trees, because my mom had never made it from scratch and I thought it was another form of wheat product.  Of course wheat also doesn’t grow on trees, so I don’t know what I was thinking.

Cherry_Tree_by_rocamiadesign

And I knew that my brother loved to make stuff up. But he was my big brother and I continually fell into the erroneous assumption that he wanted to teach me stuff.  And since I lived with my head stuck in a book, I wasn’t too informed about the outside world, except when I had to pop out like a turtle. He got pretty far with his deception. I actually started to state this as a fact. I think it was one of his proudest deceptive moments when I looked like an idiot in front of a bunch of people. My parents talked to him for the 100th time about not conniving me, but the temptation to “reel me in” never held him off for long.  I was actually very intelligent with an advanced vocabulary,  but when common sense was handed out, I came up empty.

And I think it is because I want to think the best of everyone.   I want to think that everyone is on the “up and up”, open and honest.  And I try and practice what I most desire. The problem is that people are so used to stealthy underhanded manipulation that the truth is looked at with deep distrust and every attempt is made to disprove it.

I live with a child who thrives on deception, secrets, manipulation and lies.  It is heartbreaking.  It daily tries my innermost resilience.  And more often than not, I lose. Either I am taken in or I have paranoid moments when I don’t believe a word he says. I’m sure you know pathologic liars; they are impossible to interact with in a meaningful way.

And no matter where you work, even in the best of places, there are times when the truth is not encouraged or wanted.  Everyone has been a scapegoat at some point or another.  If not, you have been the bully or manipulator, and you may want to re-evaluate how you treat others.

The below poem is a rather bitter, slap-you-in-the-face reminder that secrets and lies are an unending circle taught to the young and encouraged by the world.  While it is rather “heavy”, I hope it strikes a chord in you.

The world revolves around secrets and lies;

Half truths and full lies underscore the theme.

Gullible souls turn guileless blind eyes,

Evil and “misguidance” from truth flies;

Prey on the innocent and uninitiated green.

Pure intentioned, the preyed novice tries

The “Power of One” their motto’d phrase.

But soon discovers the unpleasant surprise:

Absolute power corrupts in absolute ways

They look to those who are older and wise,

Not knowing the essential part they play.

But eventually their passion for truth dies;

Lost to the seductive, power-hungry craze.

Discomfort follows the nakedness of  truth.

It reveals, “unpeels” the secret rotten core.

Children taught not to lie as tender youth

Yet when older, secrets and lies open the door.

Failure to deviate now seems uncouth;

We forget when we valued what was pure.

We sell our integrity at the character booth

And victimize new initiates once more.

This evil circle renewed, next generation’s chore

Perpetually perpetrated to “even the score”……

I'm interested in your thoughts and ideas!

