2 Comments

Panis Angelicus

Thomas Aquinas depicted in stained glass

Thomas Aquinas depicted in stained glass (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Panis angelicus is a 13th century masterpiece, the penultimate strophe (or Ode) of the hymn Sacris solemniis written by Saint Thomas Aquinas for the Feast of Corpus Christi as part of a complete liturgy of the Feast including prayers for the Mass and the Liturgy of the Hours.

I thought this beautiful medieval Catholic communion song was perfect for Easter, so I hope you enjoy it.  Since it is in Latin (YIKES!), there are a number of translated versions to choose, and I have chosen my favorite English translation below.  This song is a professional piece, and despite knowing it very well I still had many tries before I satisfied my pseudo-perfectionism! Added to my frustration was my cat howling in harmony in a version I did very well, and I was ready to strangle the computer, the mic, the cat and the headphones…  🙂

Panis Angelicus A Capella

TRANSLATION:

Heavenly Bread

Nourishes all Mankind

Bread from the Angelic Host

That is the end of all Imaginings

Oh, Miraculous Thing!

This body of God will nourish

Even the Poorest

The most humble of Servants

2 comments on “Panis Angelicus

  1. I so appreciate your effort. Not bad with your voice. I can so picture the frustration you had with the recording and the cat and was amused that it turned out as well as it did.

I'm interested in your thoughts and ideas!

