7 Comments

Divine Prayer

The poem below imagines Jesus’ prayer to His Heavenly Father asking God to take the upcoming suffering away from Him.  I hope you have a blessed Good Friday and remember His great sacrifice for us.

ajmacdonaldjr.wordpress.com

Jesus:
Oh Father, take this cup from me

God:
My dearest Son, you will set mankind free.

Jesus:
Father may Your Will be done….

God:
You will knit the breach, my Son

Jesus:
Father, My tears fall like bloody rain!

I cannot bear the upcoming pain

and I am afraid, this body so frail.

God:
My Son, you will not fail!

Your sacrifice is the final end

and a perfect, permanent mend.

Jesus:
Is there no other way?

God:
Keep the faith dear Son, do not stray.

Jesus:
I will do as you command.

God:
Soon, by My right hand you will stand.

Jesus:

The burdensome sin of man

almost breaks me. Please hold my hand.

God:
But at some point I must let you go.

Jesus:
Leaving me will tear my soul you know,

for we have never been apart.

God:
Turning my back will break my heart!

But have faith my Son, this will soon be done.

And I will hold you close when we have won.

Satan’s hold on earth will break;

hold on for our creation’s sake.

You will free them from their sin!

Your sacrifice the final perfect win.

7 comments on “Divine Prayer

  1. Beautiful. I had never considered imagining the other side of the prayer. Why wouldn’t I think that the Father communicated back with the Son? Thank you for sharing, Lori.

  2. Wow, Lorene. I really like this one. It was so well conceived and put together. I had goose bumps reading it. Super great job!

    • Now and then I am able to write a poem from start to finsh in one setting. This one just flowed out of me after reading the passage on Jesus’ prayers in the garden. Of course, imagining the reality of what must have been practically a universe wrenching last conversation can never even come close to the words they said to each other. But it did make it more “real” to me, and I hope to others as well.

  3. So powerful, Lorene! (I’m going to go back and read it again).

    • I read it tonight with my Pastor in a responsive reading, and I couldn’t get through it. Of course we cannot fully comprehend their last discourse, and my imaginings are but the faintest shadow. I think of people on the Titanic, who had time to have their last conversations with their loved ones, but this one, this Holy bond was going to be broken for the first time ever. How they must have suffered! No wonder Jesus cried tears of blood!

I'm interested in your thoughts and ideas!

