Leave a comment

Dread Nonet

Trembling limbs, autonomic response

Memory links past with future

What will come must be endured

Time-withered awareness

Connections sicken

Marching swiftly

Inexorable

Helpless

DREAD

fromhaustohome.com

Tornadoes have danced around my home for the last 20 years.  I moved from my last house right before one came through the neighborhood.  My old house was one of the few undamaged by the storm.  Two F4 tornadoes came through KC some years ago, each 6 miles to the east and west of me.  They are an uneasy part of spring and summer life.   I loved thunderstorms as a child.  But Missouri thunderstorms are a fierce and mighty event, and nothing like the thunderstorms of Pennsylvania.

I have a sick fascination for tornadoes.  I dread them, yet I am awed by their beauty and destructive power.  May is “tornado month” for the Midwest, destruction juxtaposed on the re-birth of nature.   I am sure everyone has a fear related to the type of weather event that is the Achilles’ heal of your geographic location.  The awesome power and destructive force are, to me, a reflection of the mighty power of our Creator.

I wrote this two days ago.  In the wake of the terrible Oklahoma disaster today, my thoughts, hopes and prayers go out to all who are affected by this.  I know people in this area but contacting them right now is impossible.  I am sure some of you are in the same position.  Disasters like this underscore the fact that one never knows what the day will bring.  Hold your loved ones tight every time you leave them.

Psalms 46:1 God is our  refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble.

Deuteronomy 4:29
But if  you seek the LORD your God, you will find him if you look for him with all your heart and with all your soul.

I'm interested in your thoughts and ideas!

