13 Comments

Virtual Bullying

I don’t think I have ever been offended more than with a reply I received from an unbelievably rude bully.  I wrote a short sentence stating that I had a different opinion, and the below is his response.  I am posting it as I believe that people like this view blogging as a platform for virtual bullying.

I asked him for an apology and the response was even more unbelievable.  What a miserable life to have such disdain toward another human being.

I’m just guessing here, but could it be that we’re inhabiting different planets? You mention in the short bio on your blog that you’re in possession of a “bipolar brain,” which could provide an answer to that question.

Close, but no cigar. Thanks for playing!

I don’t want to give him any publicity for he doesn’t deserve any “views”.  But to attack someone personally by reading and criticizing one’s About page is beyond stupid.

 

13 comments on “Virtual Bullying

  1. May the Word of our Lord, the Word which stands forever, bring you comfort. This is what HE says, “”Listen to me, you who know righteousness,…fear not the reproach of man, nor be dismayed at their revilings. For the moth will eat them up like a garment, and the worm will eat them like wool; but my righteousness will be forever, and my salvation to all generations.” Isa 51:7-8 ESV
    Rather picturesque, wot? 🙂 And also true!

    • Thank you for reminding me of this, it is a beautiful poetic passage. This actually started because he said that belief in God was a mental disorder, and people will soon be forced to be “treated”. Well, I couldn’t let that go. Anyone with a belief system would respond if they cared about their beliefs. While I know God’s promises, to be attacked so viciously is beyond my comprehension. And God loves him as much as He loves you and I. But bullies are a trigger for me, and this one hit all my buttons. Peace to you!

      • Well, we have this strong assurance that God is the glory and lifter up of our heads and that He’ll vindicate us… and there will be that day of vindication. Praying the Lord’s peace to soak into your heart and praying that the folks out there who speak tolerance and world peace, but live intolerance and fences would come to know the love and healing touch of God. Blessings and Shalom!

  2. Always best to just ignore …. and approve all comments! 🙂

    • Greg–if someone called you crazy because they went to your about page and saw that you were bipolar, would you not defend yourself? I called him ignorant and unfortunately he reveled in it. So yes, my mistake, but allowing someone to bully and abuse me is just not my MO. But you are right, changing someone’s mind and giving them information is often an exercise in frustration. At least I have the satisfaction that he spent lots of time with LONG replies, thus wasting his time 🙂

      • Good for you to stand up for yourself! I recently had a similar experience and simply turned the other ‘digital’ cheek! The ‘teacher’ in me agrees with your approach of giving them information. The ‘realist’ in me has also experienced the frustration of being ignored.

        • I certainly welcome different opinions as long as the basic tenets of respect are firmly in place. You have shown yourself in your blog to be a lovely person, and I admire your ability to walk away from it. But they guy attacked my religion and told me I was insane and that religion would soon be a mental disorder that I can add to the rest of mine, and I would be “treated”. Sometimes one simply cannot walk away from topics of critical, fundamental importance. I wish I had been less emotional and offended by it, for I only gave him fodder to abuse me more. I like to learn lessons from everything, and I shall take this one to heart.

  3. There are those Lori who are just aggressive by nature and look for negative things to say wherever they are. It’s bullying at it’s worst. I’m sorry you’ve suffered at someone’s hands like this and I hope it doesn’t happen again, but chances are it will so it’s best to ignore it if you can and just treat them as ignorant.
    xx Hugs xx

  4. Yikes! I’m sorry that you have had such a yucky experience. Obviously here is someone whose lack of understanding and basic compassion have made hi unable to enjoy you as you ought to be enjoyed. I hope you won’t give him more thought than he deserves… 😦

  5. Sorry this happened. Bullying is never acceptable.

  6. Cowards do that sort of thing, cowards and idiots…he is clearly both. 🙂

I'm interested in your thoughts and ideas!

