20 Comments

Post 200

I have been informed from WP that this is my 200th post.  I started this blog last year on Aug 31.  My original intention was to weekly post some 50 “poems” that I had written in the prior two months following a horrific surgery and to use it for therapy to help with memory loss from chemo and anoxic encephalopathy, a surgery complication.  This process helped me start to recall words that were originally lost to me right after surgery.  I pulled myself out of the black wall of lost recall by practicing words.  I still struggle now and then for proper nouns and names of items, but I am much better.

I have learned so much from you who are great poets!  I have attempted forms I never knew existed or was too scared to attempt.  Haiku, Tanka, Fibonacci, Etheree, Shadorma!  I learned that poetry is so much more than just rhyming words.  I have grown and expanded, and in doing so I believe I am a richer, deeper person.

I have written, roughly, a post every day-and-a-half-ish.  Some of which I am very proud, some fair, some wacky.  I have tried songs, humor, stories, quotes and poetry all wrapped in this little space, my little space.  I ranged far from my original “vision” and allowed you into my life, and for some, my heart.  Sporadically, I have discussed the difficulties of illness and cancer, and the triumph of gratitude and faith.

I have added some of my favorite posts on the side for those of you (which is most) who haven’t seen them.  Feel free to take a glance!

For those of you who have found me over the last 317-ish days, I hope this blog has been meaningful to you in my small way.  And for those 20 of you or so who always like or comment, you are the meat to a starved soul.  Thank you.

I don’t know where I am going from here. I have started a poetry only blog (link on the side) after hours of disastrous frustration with  too many aggravating details to count.  I am not a computer–or web design- savvy person.  You are welcome to look in, but it is very different and a DARK balance to this light. I double published the first poem, one here and one there, and from then on, depending on the theme, they will be published separately.  The big hurdle is whether I can manage two blogs at once–LOL–I mistakenly changed the theme in this one and spent 6 hours fixing it, so  I have no doubt I will mix them up!  Yesterday I published a poem that was missing a line for the type of poetry.  I discovered it 5 minutes after publishing.  Oh these poetry forms…..

Picture:thedailyawe.com

20 comments on “Post 200

  1. Lol, well done, I think? That’s a lot of blog posting in a small amount of time. Kudos to you, ma’am and here’s to many more!

    • My head never stops thinking, esp at 2 am! Yes, most likely TOO many posts for people to keep up. Unfortunately, I have posts scheduled every 4 days, and I find stuff that fills up the three days in between!

  2. Congratulations. It is still a learning process for me too.

  3. Congratulations. A great achievement Lori. We mere mortals can only dream.

  4. Whoo hoo! 200th post! You will get used to balancing the two blogs. It took me awhile but now I’ve got a couple going. They each have different themes and very different content 🙂 Dark is not a bad thing…without the dark we wouldn’t have the light (and vice versa!)

  5. Half the fun of the exercise is whether we notice the errors. If we do you can say you were just testing us, if we don’t, well you needn’t worry straight away.
    I want to say my own thank you for your kindnesses and for sharing parts of your life that may have been painful. You have enriched my life and also helped me through a rough spot. I’m very grateful. Today would have been Ju’s birthday and we let balloons go in the park to carry messages. typically of her, one stayed low trying to climb a tree.
    Sending you Huge Hugs xxxxxxxx

    • It’s odd, I keep getting your replies in my spam file…not just you as well. Your balloon release sounded lovely, and of course one would be a little scared of heights… 🙂 What messages did you put in them? It’s a really novel idea….well, novel to me! I always love the lighted lanterns that people let go. We had a bunch let go in my neighborhood July 4th. So beautiful to watch. HAHA, yes my life is chock full of errors now-a-days. You are so lucky to have had a great relationship with your wife.

  6. I don’t know where you’re going either, but don’t give up 🙂 Me likes your blog and I still have a lot to read. Happy 200th Post Day! x

    • Thank you! Guess where I found your comment? In my spam file….LOL–you’re IT. You seem to be squelched firmly in the quirky crowd….and I luv quirky! So we shall enjoy each others’–cheers!

  7. Congrats! Keep going! 😀

  8. Congrats, yashar koach, and kol ha’kavod! (Yashar koach=right on, kol ha’kavod=great job!)

  9. Yay. Keep going. Life is a journey and I’m happy to follow you and see where God takes you.

  10. A belated congrats!! 😀 Yay!

I'm interested in your thoughts and ideas!

