18 Comments

Eat a leaf, relieve the pain

medicinalplantsinnigeria.org

“Everyone” knows about Aspirin,  (ASA) from the Willow bark tree.  Cowboys used to chew it as “tooth picks” for pain from sitting on horses all day.  But there are many pain relieving compounds found in numerous plants, marijuana the most notorious in recent years.  But scientists have found a new bomb in pain killing in the African peach tree.

“It is being likened to tramadol, the synthetic opioid drug that first hit the market back in 1977, except that it is not synthetic and occurs naturally in the  bark of Nauclea latifolia, also known as the “African peach” or “pin  cushion tree.” According to Chemistry World, concentrations of this  unique analgesic compound are so high in the pin cushion tree that people can  actually grow and harvest it themselves without having to get a prescription.”

“Just how effective this shrub really is in pain management piqued the interest  of neuroscientist Michel De Waard and his colleagues at the “Universite Joseph Fourier” in France, who recently published the findings of a study they conducted on it in the international journal Angewandte Chemie. After obtaining a  methanolic extract of the plant using high performance liquid  chromatography (HPLC) and testing its effects on mice, the team confirmed that  the pin cushion tree is a pain-killing powerhouse.

“Our results indicate  that high amounts of the analgesic drug, tramadol, can be obtained through a  simple extraction procedure from Nauclea latifolia found in Cameroon or  sub-Saharan areas,” says De Waard, adding that multiple analyses conducted by  his team confirmed the compound to be tramadol.”

“”The work described has been performed in a rigorous manner, and the highly  experienced investigative team has taken great pains to show that tramadol is  actually a natural product produced by its plant of origin, Nauclea  latiolia,” adds Douglas Kinghorn, a medicinal chemist from Ohio State  University who was not involved in the study. “This report … shows that the  subject of ethnopharmacology still has much to offer biomedical research in  terms of drug discovery.”

Personal comment: yes, I am getting this bush and growing it in my house.  Tramadol is a very effective drug for pain, and if I can get it naturally with all the benefits of green plant life, so much the better.

I just wish the oncology people would get on board with all the anti-cancer and analgesic agents that scientists in other countries are discovering in plants.  The AMA can suspend or revoke the license of any oncologist advocating for natural adjunctive therapy.  It’s a tragedy for us all.

Learn more:  http://www.naturalnews.com/042333_common_shrub_natural_painkillers_opioids.html#ixzz

2hjetFMFb

18 comments on “Eat a leaf, relieve the pain

  1. As I read this I knew you’d get the plant and grow it in your closet under a grow light. :o). This sounds. I wish the AMA would make it’s way into this century. I wonder how this leaf would help with migraines. Good luck and let me know how the harvest and pain management go. God bless.

  2. Surely the oncoloists should be happy to let you take a natural drug which won’t clash with the drugs going in with infusions.
    xxx Hugs xxx

    • One would think, but I found that they did not want me to take anything “natural” on chemo. To their defense on this, they have no idea of the interactions between chemo and untested supplements and some of them countereffect the chemo results (IE: folic acid and methotrexate). But a recent study for breast cancer showed that women who used vitamin and mineral supplements had 1/3 less recurrence. Why? Were they healthier to begin with (probably)? But it underscores the lack of research in this area for both supplements and natural pain remedies.

    • They wont let them in the states I found out. See what Israel’s policy is on them.

      • I’m back in the States indefinitely….so how do I get one of these?

        • Oh sorry I just re-read your comment. I’m half asleep. I guess we’ll have to stick with pharmacologic Tramadol. It makes me itch though.

          • I’ve been on Tramadol for like 10 years now, and it has nearly no withdrawal effects, so I conitnue. It =would= be nice to be able add a African Peach Tree to my medical THC authorization – save the gubmint a couple bucks too ;):)

            • Great that you have your “card”! Can’t wait till the stupid state I live in gets real. So how ’bout, after the Ebola issue runs its course, we all go on safari in search of the elusive African Peach? I think it would be useful to learn how the natives use it. I’m thinking coca leaves, how they have to be activated by calcium carbonate (lime). If one didn’t know that, one would think it didn’t work. Just a thought.

            • Wow, strong stuff. I used Tramadol for quite some time until my Rheumatologist got my disease under control. Better pain relief than narcotics in my opinion. Yes, too bad we cant import this amazing tree into the US, not sure about Aussie rules!

  3. looking for a source for the seeds…

  4. They won’t let Gat (Qat) into the States either. It’s wonderful. You chew the leaves or make juice out of it, and everything’s just….peachy. The reason it’s illegal in the States is that the active principal can be extracted, chemically modified, and made into a lethal “club drug.” Idiots ruin things for those of us who really need these botanical medicines.

  5. I suffer from chronic migranes and fibromylagia. I would like to know how to get the Pin Cushin Plant. Thank you.

  6. very cool. I also get migraines, which can last for 5 days non stop. I have tried many things over the years, nothing has worked to stop the migraines, I mean prevent them entirely, except tram. Funny too how doctors would tell me there is nothing I could do… huh! Really? Self medicate and do a lot of your own research and you can out perform medical doctors with how many years of school? Hmm…

I'm interested in your thoughts and ideas!

