4 Comments

Comfort in Grief

The day before my dad died I had urgent end of year banking to complete and while standing in line saw a couple from church.  Now I never see anyone I know when I am out, partly because I probably don’t look (I am the worst observer)!  But I couldn’t miss them, they were right in front of me AND I had just been thinking of them for some odd reason.  They are a lovely couple with a great sense of humor and friends of my parents.  We chatted a bit and they told me they just saw my pastor, who had just left the hospital right before me!  Weird coincidence, but I felt that there was something…..

Just as I got home, Jeanette called.  She knew why I saw them at the bank.  And then told me her story about how her cousin couldn’t get to her bank funds b/c they were also in her husband’s name.  She told me to send your mom to the bank to unlink their accounts.  I knew this is why I saw them too, God was caring for my mom as He has done for the last several weeks.  I called my mom, who went to the bank and signed the paperwork to release dad’s name from their accounts.  Praise God for his care for us.

That is a stinky problem with the death of a loved one.  If you don’t have a POD on your accounts, and many don’t, then they are frozen until the death certificate is received.  That can take time, and sometimes people are locked out when they have large expenses of funeral arrangements.  Banks should notify all holders of this glitch but I only heard about this by chance some time ago, and forgot to talk to my mom about it.  I encourage everyone to find out their status of their accounts upon death of a holder.

After dad passed, I went rather dazed and exhausted to my car. I sat for a minute, wondering what his spirit was doing now.  I felt an overwhelming urge to turn on K-Love, a Christian National radio station.  And “I can Only Imagine” by MercyMe.  I cried the whole way home, but felt so peaceful listening to the singer imagine what he would first do when he got to heaven.  It is a powerful song, the link and lyrics are below if you wish to hear it.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0xwzItqYmII

I can only imagine what it will be like

When I walk by Your  side

I can only imagine what my eyes will see

When Your face is before  me

Surrounded by Your glory What will my heart feel?

Will  I dance for You Jesus? Or in awe of You be still?

Will I stand in Your presence Or to my knees will I  fall?

Will I sing, Hallelujah? Will I be able to speak at all?

I can only imagine when that day comes

And I find myself  standing in the sun

I can only imagine when all I will do

Is forever,  forever worship You

Thank you all so much for the kindness and confort you have provided to me in your comments.  I have read them to my mom and she is so grateful for all of your prayers for strangers you really don’t know but who appreciate the time and effort on our part.  We are blessed!

4 comments on “Comfort in Grief

  1. I loved reading your post about God’s provision for you and your family. It is always encouraging to hear how God is working in someone else’s life. I am sorry for your loss. I love that song as well – it describes a beautiful picture of what our loved ones who have passed just might be doing in heaven. Be blessed today and find a way to bless someone else!

  2. Your mom is still numb I’m sure – the coming weeks will be more difficult – stay by her side and love her and comfort her – and I will continue praying for all of you.

I'm interested in your thoughts and ideas!

