13 Comments

For tree huggers everywhere

treesofmystery.net

I am a tree hugger.  And proud of it.  I love them.  Before I die  I want to hug the largest Redwood Tree in Redwood National Forest. 

I told my family that I want to be cremated and buried in an enviro-urn.   Ashes are added to the enviro-pot that has a tree seed of choice and voila!  it becomes a tree over the next several years.  The enviro-urn is of course bio-degradable.  I haven’t yet decided what kind of tree, but something hardy.  Maybe a redwood.  I wonder if I can get secretly planted in Redwood National Forest?

There are loads of these now, price difference is amazing.  This one is an example:  http://greenupgrader.com/2170/spirit-tree-eco-friendly-urn/

This picture is an example of a coconut shell type called the “Bios Urn” at phoenixtreeproductions.com:

bios2

Saying that, when I read this article about an extinct tree returning to life from ancient seeds found at Heord the Great’s Palace excavations,  I got giddy with excitement.  For it is no ordinary tree but the Judean Date Palm, famous for thousands of years and mentioned many times in both Biblical and secular history.  This tree was a staple crop, and the fruit was so delicious that people named their children after it!  Like Apple or Cherry in today’s age…..  🙂

judean palm photo

Here is the link to the details behind this amazing restoration.  I hope to someday eat this fruit!

http://www.treehugger.com/natural-sciences/extinct-tree-grows-anew-after-archaeologists-dig-ancient-seed-stockpile.html (picture courtesy of this site)

So re-think floating down the river all eaten up with worms as hundreds of people did in the 1993 Mid-west flood and grow a tree from your carbon ashes!  It is greedy and wasteful to use a plot and keep all those electrolytes and carbon and tree food to yourself!  And SOOOO much less expensive.  Give what you save to your favorite charity or your loved ones!  Unless religiously you are against it, then pardon my obnoxious enthusiasm and happy tombstone hunting.

Editorial: I pre-posted this a couple of months ago before my dad became ill.  Coincidentally we are looking at using one of these for his ashes. I will let you know how it turned out from first hand experience.  Just FYI, a simple cremation is around 1400 in the Midwest.  A small obituary is around 300/paper.  A full scale funeral is around 12000.  Yeee–owww.

13 comments on “For tree huggers everywhere

  1. Lori, until you brought me back to reality reminding me about your dad, I was getting worried about you. Should I be worried about you???

    RE: the date palm, amazingly it is exactly the same date palm that is grown in Israel today. The name is Tamar, both the tree and the fruit. Definitely a little nugget of Heaven. A few days ago we had the
    Hebrew holiday of Tu bi’Shvat, which is the New Year of the trees. We celebrate it by planting a new tree, and by eating seven kinds of tree fruits. A very timely post!

    • What you are worried that I am researching urns?

      • Well no, actually I live with two of them and even though they are creepy they keep a low profile…wasn’t sure what you were getting at in that post…

        • One of my quirks is talking about how horrifying I think burial is. I want to be cremated and not float down a river 100 years later like the bodies did in the flood of 1993. It started when I had cancer and my status was uncertain. Recently I got it into my head that I wanted to be a tree so I researched it and found that there are biourns. Excited, I created a post, along with a piece I found about the extinct seed that came to life, the theme being trees, and scheduled it. I didn’t know that my dad was going to die 8 weeks later. We cremated him and we will put him in a bio urn and put him in the yard this spring. Still trying to find a seed that we like. Needs to be tough like him and able to withstand the violent storms in Missouri. But I plan to have my family do the same for me if they are willing . I want to be a redwood and get secretly planted in the redwood forest. LOL.

      • Well, I think you must admit it is not an everyday topic of conversation….even though I happen to live with two of them, which I have become accustomed to in an unwilling sort of way. That said, why ARE you talking about urns? What did you do with your father’s remains? I know that sounds kind of callous, the way I put it. I’m scrambling to figure out what I’m going to do about my dad, who is going downhill very rapidly. We have called in Hospice and all that. I get all emotional and bawl from time to time, and then start obsessing about the fact that Jews are supposed to be buried intact because of the Resurrection of the Dead, which is taken very literally so if there’s no body to resurrect, that person misses out on the World to Come. But my dad insists upon cremation, so I have to be respectful of his free will. One of the last pieces of ceramic art he made was a funerary urn, I suppose his own. Creepy, eh?

        • I just answered most of this in another comment. We cremated him. I think the viewing and burial are a little barbaric, but I understand the rationale in part of burial–although if God can create a body from the dust of the ground I am sure he can re-create one from the dust it becomes. He will have to anyway, most go to dust or dry bones and the flesh is gone. Go with your dad’s wishes. You will feel better about it if you do. LOL–We even took out my dad’s crowns, no reason other than he wanted them out before he was cremated. People make strange requests but it is best to honor them. Ask him about becoming a tree or wildflowers or the like. Being an artist, he may really like that idea. Why stick ashes in a pot when they can give back to nature?

          • What I really want is for his students to make a glaze out of his ashes and paint their pots with it…an eternal ephemeral memorial…

            • I can actually see this in an avant guarde artsy way….put it on display as transformed art!

              • Transformational monument to a life of earth, fire, water, air, and creativity. He’s in the hospital tonight. Fell again. Broke a vertebra L1. Incomplete bundle branch block on the monitor. New murmur….I haven’t listened to him yet but I’ll place my bet on aortic stenosis. Don’t know how long he can keep on like this, could be hours, could be years.

                • I know what you are going through, it was agonizing watching my dad fail although his final straw was mercifully short, only weeks with the pneumonia. He has lived such a long full life I hope his passing is easy and, for him, quick. The stress during this time makes a faster passing a blessing, so I found, when the inevitable is knocking at the door. Sounds like his heart is ready to give it up.

                  • Thanks, Lori. Yes, it’s so much more merciful when it’s fast. Doesn’t make it too much easier on family either way…don’t know. Yeah, ticker seems to be giving out…regurge on all 3 valves….we’ll just have to take what the good Lord gives us….

  2. How sensible to be looking at taking care of the environment just when no-one thinks we can take care of the environment again, I love the idea of these enviro-urns and would like to see them catch on over here but in the UK death is an expensive job and green funerals as expensive or more expensive than ordinary funerals. Plus, they’re harder to find.
    xxx Sending Massive bio-degradable Hugs xxx

    • So sad that one cannot put ones loved on in a biodegradable urn and plant a tree with it. If you still knew people in the upper eschelan’s of Welsh govt you could remind them of this stupidity!

I'm interested in your thoughts and ideas!

