5 Comments

Princeville Botanical Gardens

I spent 5 amazing hours at the Princeville Botanical Gardens, a magical place  where the owners carved out a mountain and created a wonderland.  It looks like a rain forest with a canopy and all the dense vegetation and foliage one would expect in a place like that.  I have been to many botanical gardens, but nothing like this one.

Part of the tour included tasting the exotic tropical fruits and their home made chocolate from their cacao plants.  I had never heard of most of the fruit I tried and wouldn’t have normally put the odd assortment in my mouth as some of it looked VERY strange, but I am not a toddler to turn my nose up at something I will probably never get to try again, and I was very pleasantly surprised with the wonderful unique flavors.  If you are ever in Kauai and you like gardens this is the one to go to…but only with reservations and a hefty entry fee!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Looking up from halfway down the mountain

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

So many amazing exotic flowers!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The myriad of color almost hurt my eyes

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

At the bottom of the mountain by the stream, courtesy of my daughter

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

New beards for Duck Dynasty! LOL!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Weird little plants! Like little elf shoes…..

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Official Chocolate Taster!

5 comments on “Princeville Botanical Gardens

    • You would LOVE Kauai! The most beautiful place on earth. If one likes to bike and hike, then this is THE place to go. That being said, there are some real negatives, one being the lack of parking at lookouts and trails etc. Had to turn back on more than one excursion due to no parking available. And finding some of the off the beaten track locations is hard as many streets aren’t labeled. It is also VERY expensive, and I am used to expensive!

  1. They are elf shoes…o my gosh! I’m so jealous of your trip. But I know you really needed it!

  2. […] Princeville Botanical Gardens […]

I'm interested in your thoughts and ideas!